Uncategorized

“My Dog is Sweet” vs. “Sugar is Sweet”

Sir Edward Wallace, Duke of Cornwall

My dog is sweet.

Lady Carmen Dalrymple-Montagu

Not literally.  Literally only sugar is sweet.

Sir Edward Wallace, Duke of Cornwall

Not so fast, Lady CDM.   My dog makes me feel happy.  Sugar makes me feel happy.

Lady Carmen Dalrymple-Montagu

Oh but you evolved to seek calories and those feelings of happiness mean “here is sugar.”

Sir Edward Wallace, Duke of Cornwall

Oh but I was evolved to seek love, and those feelings of happiness mean “here is my sweet puppy.”

 

Standard

5 thoughts on ““My Dog is Sweet” vs. “Sugar is Sweet”

  1. Evolved in such a way that a certain lack of distinguishment between pleasures is not actually possible in the individual. Synaesthesia of the soul.

    Unless he is talking about actually eating his dog – which is a potential subtext. Subtext: Where scary goes to lurk.

  2. Among the various differences in men, among their strengths and weaknesses, comes the ability to sense certain things to certain extents. Some people are more sensitive with their touch, taste, smell, hearing, ans sight, others have weaker senses. I’ve noticed a certain trend among people in correlation to their strength in senses, as well as their weaknesses.

    People with strong senses of taste will tell me not only that a dish was good, but what flavors were in it, why it tasted good, how the flavors interacted to make it taste good, and be quite specific about the whole thing. People with poor sense of taste just say “it was good” or “it was bad”. The most interesting thing I’ve found is that those with the weakest sense of taste need to bring in other senses to make up for the deficit. People with little sense of taste end up over seasoning food, not to flavor, but rather to physical sensation of burn. These people tend to need food to be physically hot, they can’t taste the food, so they need to sense the food other ways. They make food over spicy, because the burn of the spice is the only real sensation they receive.

    Ask me about my creme gravy venison bacon dish, and I will tell you an overly long and elaborate over explanation of how I try to use emulsification to boil down the essences of my ingredients into one smooth and beautiful flavor, while you ask someone with little sense of taste about the dish, they will say “dat was good” or “dat wasn’t so good”. I would try to describe the intricate and complicated flavor I am trying to build, and every detail about it, and some people would understand, and others would not. There would be those out there who would boil their experience down to 1984esque “good” “double plus good” descriptions. Herein lies the lesson.

    Ask me about sweetness, and I’ll ask “What kind, granulated sugar, processed white sugar, brown sugars, honey, or molasses, or what exact sweetness are we talking about?”. Another person would just say “I like sweet things, they are nice and good” If you like certain types of sweet flavors, we can be perplexed by people’s usage of the term in such grand open general terms. But to those who have such general and broad feelings and senses of such things, it certainly does make sense. Sweet is just sweet, and sweet is good, and now sweet is general term for all pleasant things.

    Studying people, there are those of us who speak eloquently and use specific terms to further describe our message, and those that hold every single term to loose open standards with very little specific meaning, most similar words are perfectly interchangable to them. Is this lack of education? Perhaps. But, also consider that those that do not feel cannot do a good job of articulating. If one thinks broadly, his words and statements will follow. You cannot describe much about numbness, because what is there to describe?

    One can also be flooded with emotion and feeling to the point of being overwhelmed. This overwhelming goodness can be numbing in itself. One could also describe such an over flow as generally good and then use that same term for all other super good things in his life.

    I’m cold and heartless. I felt something once, and it moved me to poetry. I could describe such a feeling in a certain way. But that was a long time ago, and now it becomes harder and harder to describe it. When I talk about subjects, I do very well, but I cannot speak of my feelings, because I am almost devoid of them. Understanding my strengths and weaknesses, I understand well that I cannot articulate feelings to people, who demand them of me, because i do not really feel. They demand deep and articulated responses of what I feel, articulated like how I would describe how and why I make my venison dish, and with the same amount of care and accuracy. But i cannot. But, it is from here that I can understand them when they cannot properly articulate things in other subjects to the detail I would prefer.

    Hope I didn’t post to long as I always do, and add a bit of sour to this sweet

  3. I’d say I have a decent sense of empathy, I can tend to feel what other people are feeling. Compared to what other people feel, from my experiences, what I feel is very little indeed. Some people can be very passionate about small things, and i can be extremely cool about most important things. At a funeral, I do not so much mourn the dead as I feel for the mourners, something I can sense acutely. I am a piece of steel, and the warmth I have is put into me by others. In the end my general effect is to cool them.

    I suppose the better way to explain it is, I can talk to a craftsman who is a master in his trade listen to him speak, understand on an engineering level exactly what he is saying, and learn a great deal about his craft, but with that knowledge, I am smart enough to know I’m too stupid to become a master of his craft, to do his work, and how little my understanding really is. To openly learn with an open mind, and with proper introspect, to learn about other things and people is to understand your own limitations.

Leave a Reply

