Uncategorized

Juanita & Carol: Can Someone Else Die Your Death for You?

Juanita

The special thing about death is nobody else can die your death for you.

Carol

I don’t know if that is special, but I don’t want to argue with you.

Juanita

Why?

Carol

Because arguing may cause our positions to solidify and we may lose the truthfulness that comes from a flexible position.

Juanita

Perhaps.  But it could be that the unit of truth for human beings is not one person holding one belief but two or more holding opposing beliefs.  If that is so, and the unit of truth-holding is a set of individuals, the clarity of that group may well be advanced by each person within the group holding as strong and sharp a version of their opinion as they can.

Carol

Or it might not be, it might in fact be that the best way for a group of people to reflect the truth is through a certain flexibility and mutual accomodation of their views.

Juanita

Very well, but nobody can die your death for you.

Carol

Nobody else can eat a sandwich for me either.

Juanita

Sure they can. They could digest it and transfer the nutrients to your bloodstream.  But nobody else can die your death for you.

Carol

Nobody else can live my life for me.

Juanita

Sure they can.  Whatever your goal in life is they can help you achieve it.  If your job is to overcome fascism and you become stricken with illness they can live your life for you by overcoming fascism for you.

Carol

Maybe so, but I don’t think anybody else can die my death for me.

Juanita

I will die your death for you. Go back to your children and I will carry on the fight and if I die, I die for you.

Carol

Maybe so, but it doesn’t seem quite right.

Juanita

Nor to me either.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Juanita & Carol: Can Someone Else Die Your Death for You?

  1. So the second last one from Juanita is to voice the protest someone reading it might have – I’m confused since she changes her position?

    • yeah it is a little confusing – I wanted to write something about whether or not it’s true that somebody can die your death for you but it ended up having to be about whether the whole idea of having different conflicting positions made sense.

Leave a Reply

