Uncategorized

Can You Pretend to Be Something You Are?

Q: Can you pretend to be something you are?

A: Yes, if you don’t know you are it.

Q:Can you be pretentiously unpretentious?

A:Yes, lots of people do this.

Q: Can you be unpretentious without pretending to be unpretentious?

A: Yes, this happens a lot.

Q: What is the relationship between irony and pretence?

A:Symbiotic.  In a society with no pretence there is no need for irony.

Q: Can you be pretentiously ironic?

A: This is extremely common.

Q: Would it be good to be entirely unpretentious?

A: No, because that would mean you lacked i)aspiration and ii)care for others.

Q:  I don’t think that’s right.

A:It’s not.

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Can You Pretend to Be Something You Are?

  1. We could only be unpretentiously unpretentious if we didn’t care at all what other people thought of us. I do care, but try not to obsess about it and never to let it outweigh considerations of right or truth. I hope that I succeed more often than I fail (though perhaps that qualifies as being pretentiously unpretentious).

    It seems to me that a few rare people are entirely unpretentious. They’re so focused on what they’re doing that they don’t even think about other people’s opinions of it. Whether that’s good or bad depends on what they’re doing. If it’s a scientist working on a new kind of bomb, it’s bad; if it’s a doctor treating impoverished villagers, it’s good. I’ve known a few people who I thought were good like that. From what you said, I think we agree about that point.

  2. Can I pretend to be someone who can’t be bothered to pretend they are someone who can’t be bothered to pretend they are someone who can’t be bothered to pretend…wait, I’ll get back to you on this when I finish this sentence…

    Can you be pretentiously unpretentious?

    I would if they’d just stop and notice how fabulous I am for a change. Sometimes boarding up all doors but one and standing in it helps. Not that it matters to me, of course.

    And what’s with the American use of ‘irony’? Ie, the Alanis Morissette definition of irony?

    Okay, here’s an example of irony – space explorers go to another planet to save the people there! … In the hope those people have a cure for the poison in the space explorers veins.

    The initial premise is actually reversed as to who is in what position.

    Vs Alanis Morissette singing about rain on your wedding day.

    This is the dialog we had to have, American definition of irony!

    • Mikey says:

      Canadians are North Americans. It’s a fun trick to call them Americans and then when they angrily protest, look earnest and hurt and say “But Canada is in North America, isn’t it?”

      I thought I was unpretentious, but reading this made me think – Agh! Maybe I’m doing all for show. I bet I am. It would be just like me. How could I know for sure though?

Leave a Reply

