Uncategorized

A Few Words on the Mother Goddess

ERNESTO

I was thinking of worshiping something because my smallness and fragility is giving me the heebie jeebies.

JAVIER

I get it.  Have you considered worshiping the Mother Goddess?  The Hindus call her Devi.  The ancient Greeks Hera.

ERNESTO

I am a Jew.

JAVIER

The ancient Jews worship her as Shekhina — the wife of God.

ERNESTO

I thought God’s wife was named Felicia.  Or Mrs. God.

JAVIER

You can call her what you will, Ernesto.  If you are going to worship something why not worship that mysterious TRIANGULAR VOID from which you came?

ERNESTO

But I don’t really think I came from a Mother Goddess!

JAVIER

You came from an Inexplicable Void and to that you return….isn’t that your Mother?  and isn’t it so much more powerful than you are than you might as well…

ERNESTO

Call it a Goddess?

JAVIER

You can say it, Ernesto.  Say it with me.

ERNESTO/JAVIER

Her.

ERNESTO

Pray with me.

ERNESTO/JAVIER

Oh Great She Great Her/We don’t know who you are/But your bosoms are the nourishing sky/your skin is each moment/your mouth kisses us with each breath we take/And you are the sleek and fiery vulva we come from/and to which we pray some day to return.

ERNESTO

Javier?

JAVIER

Yes, Ernesto.

ERNESTO

That prayer.  It makes me feel a little weird.

JAVIER

How so, Ernesto? Speak honestly with me.  After all — if we are children of the same mother it means you and I are brothers.

ERNESTO

It seems like that prayer makes me want to make the love with my mother.

JAVIER

Spiritually?

ERNESTO

And physically.  And that is wrong.

JAVIER

Oh, Ernesto.   It is not spoken of in polite society.  It is perhaps bad for business.  But for a boy to love his mother is never, never, wrong.

Standard

8 thoughts on “A Few Words on the Mother Goddess

  1. “The ancient Jews worship her as Shekhina — the wife of God”. Ancient Jews believed G-d had a wife? And do Orthodox Jews still worship her?

  2. Yes. It is the secret esoteric dimension of Judaism. G-d has two sides: an inconceivable side, an Infinite It which you can’t really worship because worship is a relationship and relating is limitation, and a part you can relate to. The part you can relate to has a wife.

  3. If the part of G-d that I can relate to came to Earth with the wife, would he allow her to stand beside him in all things? Have asked the rabbis, and read commentary and the reasoning and logic of why men and women separate in life events but especially in worship. Have studied the other religions’ books as well as but have not understood why men are deemed the authority over women in Catholic, Mormon, Protestant, Muslim faiths…..have come to the thought it is men who wrote all those books. Who wrote the Hindu book?
    Religions that I know are by far masculine. I think that wasn’t the case with creation. I am thinking of the probability that the first breath of life began as the feminine, from The feminine. Still working on when that gender status changed. Early when there was one that became separated into two. Or later when men had the knowledge of evil. And does it really matter?

      • I agree. If we are defined, there must be an other. A compliment. It’s been 30 years and my asking man to tell me about the Divine is over. It began as a look-see to understand why so many follow and so many profess belief and so many don’t question anything? Sat for Mass at the Vatican thinking there might be some divine in that great building of St. Peters. – Got my Temple Recommend from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Not all LDS can go into their temples, there are requirements. – Attended conservative synagogue for 15 years and studied until it joined the Reform Organization in Pittsburgh. I paid dues and had voting rights. It was more of a business after that. And I attended functions, bible studies and services in my local Protestant churches along the way. The people I connected with made it worthwhile.

        There were bits of truths and good in each place. If you are trying to connect with G-d it will be as an individual human asking to return. Humans were created, and haven’t evolved. We’ve mutated to survive our own failings. The Divine can restore us back to his original creation. Isn’t that what we’re all asking for after death? A second chance?

Leave a Reply

