Uncategorized

A Beneficent Presence

A friend writes:

I have read so much about malign presences.  i would like to share with your readers an experience I had of a presence or entity that was the reverse, namely, beneficent.  I had a sense in some of the less examined regions of my life that there was a presence dwelling there, observing me, and using its powers to affect me in a positive way.   I considered various theories about what this presence was, such as, that it was the soul of a departed family member, an angel, my future self traveling back through time to help me, or that it was perhaps my true self, and I was simply a sub-system or intermittent false consciousness which the presence wished to integrate into a more fruitfully functioning whole.  One theory I find it literally impossible to consider is that the presence is anything other than possessed of a good will.  This idea, although I can entertain it rationally as a possibility, is emotionally impossible for me, much as it is impossible for me to find pain pleasant, or nausea appetite-inducing.  I have on occasion tried to communicate with this benign entity in order to understand it better or learn who or what it is but to no success.

A simple narrative, but one which raises so many more questions than it answers!  I tried to pose them to my friend but before I was able to articulate quite what my suspicion was, and why it was necessary for him to allay it before further entangling himself with this entity, I got exorcised.

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Beneficent Presence

  1. Mikey says:

    I haven’t seen any evidence of ghosts being bad guys. There are loads of people who believe in them, and mostly they’re scared of them, but what the heck? If ghosts had any bad intentions they’d do something bad, but they never do. No one ever gets killed by a ghost. The worst thing they do is knock stuff over, which is pretty restrained for someone who is universally feared and probably pretty lonely.

Leave a Reply

